We use cookies and third-party cookies. You can modify the settings and obtain further information in our Privacy Policy. You accept its use by continuing the navigation.


A Concise Overview
Horse racing, often dubbed the Sport of Kings, boasts a rich history dating back to the era when humans first began training and riding horses. Some of America’s oldest racetracks, operational since the mid-1800s, still host thrilling races today. Notably, the prestigious Kentucky Derby, staged at Churchill Downs, has been an annual spectacle since its inception in 1875.

Key Horse Racing Events Throughout the Year
The pinnacle of horse racing events revolves around the three-year-old crop, featuring the renowned Triple Crown series. The journey begins with the iconic Kentucky Derby.

The Kentucky Derby
Taking place at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky, on the first Saturday in May, the Kentucky Derby draws the most talented 18-20 horses of their age group. Participants qualify through rigorous races, earning their chance to compete in the revered “Run for the Roses.”

Preakness Stakes
The second installment of the Triple Crown, the Preakness Stakes, unfolds at Pimlico Racecourse in Baltimore, Maryland, precisely two weeks after the Kentucky Derby. While horses typically refrain from racing within such a short span, winners of the Kentucky Derby occasionally return to vie for further glory.

Belmont Stakes
Concluding the Triple Crown series is the Belmont Stakes, held in Elmont, New York. Distinguished as the “Test of Champions,” the Belmont stands out with its grueling 1 ½-mile distance, making it the longest race most of these horses will ever contest. Only a select few, just 13 horses to date, have managed to secure victory in all three legs of the Triple Crown.

Championship Events in Horse Racing
Breeders’ Cup
The Breeders’ Cup Championships, an annual affair in November, features 14 races categorized by age, sex, distance, and racing surfaces. Friday showcases Juvenile and two-year-old races, while Saturday hosts Championships for three-year-olds and older horses. The winner of the prestigious Breeders’ Cup Classic often earns the esteemed title of Horse of the Year, marking the pinnacle of equine achievement.